City Manager

The Bonner Springs City Council unanimously appointed Sean Pederson as City Manager in October 2015. 

He received a Master of Public Administration (MPA) degree with a concentration in Local Government Management from the University of South Dakota, a Bachelor degree with a major in Political Science from the University of Kansas, and a Graduate Certificate in Economic Development from the University of Oklahoma.

He has completed multiple executive programs including the John F. Kennedy School of Government Senior Executives in State and Local Government program at Harvard University, the University of Virginia Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service Senior Executive Institute, and a graduate of Leadership ICMA. Mr. Pederson holds several credentials including being a ICMA - Credentialed Manager, SHRM - Senior Certified Professional, and Certified Public Manager (CPM).

He is also active in several professional associations, including the International City/County Managers Association (ICMA), the Kansas Association of City Managers (KACM), and the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM).

Previous Bonner Springs City Managers

  • Randy Gustafson - 1970 to 1977
  • Bob Evans - 1977 to 1991
  • Tom Cooley - 1992 to 1998
  • Weldon Padgett - 1999 to 2002
  • John Helin - 2002 to 2015